Legends of Danish design

12.04.2017 – 11.06.2017

Main Building

On April 12, 2017 “The Legends of Danish Design” exhibition will open at the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, set up by Moscow Design Museum in collaboration with the Royal Danish Library (Copenhagen) and Dansk Møbelkunst Gallery (Copenhagen), supported by the Royal Danish Embassy in Moscow and the Ministry of Cultural Affairs of Denmark.

The exhibition will feature eight most famous chairs from eight famous Danish designers – Arne Jacobsen, Hans J. Wegner, Børge Mogensen, Kaare Klint, Finn Juhl, Grete Jalk, Poul Kjærholm and Verner Panton, as well as the legendary ARTICHOKE lamp by Poul Henningsen. The exhibits will be supplemented with drawings, sketches, advertising posters, photos and video materials from archives that will tell about the history of each chair, its author, and time. The goal set by the curators is to present classic Danish design through the objects that the Russian viewer primarily associates it with – and to show what has made Denmark one of the leading countries in the field of design.

Design occupies an important place both in the country’s economy and in the Danes’ lives. The works of Danish designers have become not just the classics, but truly emblematic objects of the twentieth century. Design plays a significant role in Denmark’s ‘individuality’, style, and the Danish citizens’ way of life.

The first professional woodworkers guilds appeared in Denmark at the beginning of the 16th century: in 1515, a carpenters’ guild was created, and in 1554 there was established a guild of cabinetmakers, top class craftsmen, who created furniture from expensive types of wood. The guilds set quality standards for goods, supervised the production process as well as training and certifying artisans. Potential guild members presented their products to an expert review committee. At the beginning of the 20th century, this tradition developed into annual professional exhibitions, where unique, benchmark samples of furniture were demonstrated.

In 1930–1950, Danish artisan workshops were compelled to compete with other European industrial enterprises. During that period, the guilds resolved two problems: on the one hand, they proved the advantages of hand-made, individual craftsmanship and on the other hand, they stimulated the development of local mass production. Its necessity was dictated, among other things, by mass construction of public buildings that required new furniture.

In Denmark, industrial design was created to support mass production – high-quality properties were achieved due to the perfectly created form of the object, and properly selected colours and materials.

The famous Designmuseum Danmark was conceived as an ‘educational  centre’ for local producers and artisans. Its founders were sure that, in order to develop all industrial sectors, it was necessary to pay a lot of attention to design, to introduce professionals to its best examples from around the world, as well as to its history so that they could improve their artisan skills. The museum’s collection, library, and archives became a mecca and an important source of information for designers. After its opening to the general public in 1895, it was also supposed to shape up and form good taste. Currently, the richest collection at the Designmuseum Danmark includes works of decorative and applied art, as well as samples of industrial design from Western Europe, the Far East, China and Japan from the Middle Ages up to the present. Special attention is paid to decorative and applied art by Danish designers from the start of the 20th century up to the present.

Danish design as a symbol of elegance, simplicity, and functionality, is famous throughout the world. Exhibition projects linked with Danish design do not occur frequently in Russia. The curators are convinced that this exhibition will launch the start of familiarization with the history of Danish design, and will be interesting for both professionals and amateurs.

Participants

Kaare Klint (1888–1954) is, according to many researchers, the ‘father’ of modern Danish furniture design. His FAABORG CHAIR (1914), which launched the "golden age" of Danish design, was created for Faaborg Art Museum. The chair was supposed to be moved around the exhibition hall by the museum visitors, so special attention was paid to its lightness and mobility. Aesthetics, functionalism, and a modern approach to design made this chair one of the key pieces of furniture during the first half of the 20th century.

Arne Jacobsen (1902–1971) is one of the most well-known representatives of Danish design.  An architect by education, he designed and built more than 100 houses in Denmark and abroad.  For some of his projects, he developed design for furniture, textiles, dishes, lamps and lighting fixtures. For example, for the Radisson Blu Royal Hotel in Copenhagen, he designed everything, including the cutlery. His work in the field of furniture design brought him worldwide fame. The ANT, EGG, and SWAN chairs are masterpieces of furniture art that have retained their popularity. While working on the ANT chair, which will be on display at an exhibition at the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, Jacobsen used his experience as an architect. The ANT’s steel legs are ideal metallic structural components, and its back and seat are a single piece of plywood.

Hans Wegner (1914–2007) is the most innovative of all Danish furniture designers; he received almost all major design awards, including the title of Honorary Royal Designer for Industry, conferred on him by the Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce in London. The exhibition includes his most famous chair, which is called THE CHAIR (1949). A simple wooden chair with a wicker seat and a rounded back, later made in leather, became a ‘star’ in 1960 after presidential candidates John Kennedy and Richard Nixon sat on these chairs during the televised debates.

Børge Mogensen (1914–1972) is known as the most ‘social’ Danish designer. Mogensen believed that quality design should be available for everyone, not only for wealthy people, so he launched mass production of furniture which reduced the price without losing the quality. A trip to Spain inspired the designer to create the SPANISH CHAIR (1958) that is part of this exhibition project. Similar chairs were often encountered in that part of Spain that was under the influence of the Islamic culture.

Poul Henningsen (1894–1967) is a leading specialist in the theory of lighting, a designer of unique lamps and decorative lighting fixtures called PH (the name of the series is the designer’s initials). The special feature of PH lamps lies in their ability to emit reflected light. This kind of system enables to achieve glare-free and uniform illumination giving it a warm shade. The most famous model, ARTICHOKE, is yet another design masterpiece of the 20th century, and will be presented at the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts. The first ARTICHOKE was produced in 1958, but even today it looks like an object of modern art.

Projects by Finn Juhl (1912–1989) were distinguished from those done by his contemporaries by their volume and softness, contrasting with restrained, even minimalist, Danish architecture. For a long time, the designer collaborated with the famous architect Vilhelm Lauritzen. In 1942, Finn Juhl designed a chair that stood in the royal box of the Danish Radio Concert Hall in Copenhagen. This chair will also be shown at the "Legends of Danish Design" exhibition.

Grete Jalk (1920–2006), like most of her colleagues, experimented with new materials and production processes. Interest in her unusual furniture did not arise immediately – at first people mostly bought her works for exhibitions and private collections. Jalk designed furniture sets for industrial production that became very popular, and improved the reputation of Danish furniture design the world over; they were produced in Europe and America. The SHELL CHAIR (1963), made from multi-layered, flexible plywood that will be shown at the exhibition is one of her experimental projects.

Poul Kjærholm (1929–1980) chose steel as the principal material for his products, but always combined it with wood, leather, rattan, and marble. One of his most well-known products, a PK91 (1961) folding chair, will be on display at the Pushkin Museum. History played a very important role for Kjærholm, as well as for most Danish designers. The inspiration behind the model that will be shown at the exhibition was an antique Egyptian chair dated around 1500 B.C. The designer used his own method of ‘rethinking’ the historical furniture types which improved their ergonomics as well as making them more simple, elegant and minimalist.

 ‘Furniture design innovator’, Verner Panton (1926—1998) experimented a lot with new materials (plastic, plexiglass, fiberglass, glass, foam rubber, polypropylene and synthetic fibers) and technological processes. His most famous chair of the 20th century, the PANTON CHAIR, does not have any legs, back, or armrests and was made from a single piece of formed plastic. The production technology was so complicated that it took 7 years for the idea to be implemented and realized. The chair is still in production. Its modern sample will be placed in the exhibition interactive zone, and each visitor will be able to enjoy its comfort or take a photograph.

Museum general partner

Co-organizer

Participants

Radiopartner

Informational partners

Professional informational partner

SATELLITE WEBSITES
 Pictures
 List

Portal Homepage

www.arts-museum.ru

Japanese prints of the 18th-19th century

www.japaneseprints.ru

Patrons of the New Art

www.artmaecenas.ru

Gallery of 19th and 20th century European and American Art

www.newpaintart.ru

German Prints: Albrecht Dürer and his Teachers

www.germanprints.ru

Official online shop

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Department of Private Collections

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at Russian State University for the Humanities

Site under development

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Coins And Medals Department

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Sviatoslav Richter Memorial Apartment

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Museum Restoration and Conservation Department

www.museumconservation.ru

Italian Painting in 8th-20th centuries

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Museyon Center for Aesthetic Education

www.museyon.ru

Masterpieces of Ancient Art

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

18th-19th Century British Engraving

www.britishprints.ru

Restoration of Egyptian burial shroud. II-nd c. AD.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Each satellite website contains this icon, which lets you go to any satellite from the museum's website system.

Engraving in Russia in 18th and Early 19th Centuries

www.russianprints.ru

Museum Quarter

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

Легенды датского дизайна

12.04.2017 – 11.06.2017

Главное здание

В ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина 12 апреля 2017 года открывается выставка «Легенды датского дизайна», подготовленная Московским музеем дизайна совместно с Королевской библиотекой Дании (Копенгаген) и Dansk Møbelkunst Gallery (Копенгаген).

Дизайн занимает важное место и в экономике страны, и в повседневной жизни каждого датчанина. Работы датских дизайнеров стали классикой и по-настоящему знаковыми предметами ХХ века. Дизайн – это значительная часть «индивидуальности» Дании, стиля и образа жизни ее граждан.

На выставке будут представлены восемь самых известных стульев от восьми именитых датских дизайнеров – Арне Якобсена, Ханса Дж. Вегнера, Бёрге Могенсена, Кааре Клинта, Финна Юля, Греты Ялк, Поля Кьерхольма и Вернера Пантона, а также легендарный светильник ARTICHOKE Поля Хеннингсена. Экспозиция будет дополнена рисунками, чертежами, эскизами, рекламными постерами, архивными фото- и видеоматериалами, которые расскажут об истории создания каждого стула и его авторе. Цель, которую ставят перед собой кураторы выставки, – дать представление о классическом датском дизайне на примере предметов, с которыми он в первую очередь ассоциируется у российского зрителя, рассказать о том, что сделало Данию одной из лидирующих стран в области дизайна.

Первые профессиональные гильдии мастеров деревообработки появились в Дании в начале XVI века: в 1515 году была создана гильдия плотников, в 1554 – краснодеревщиков, мастеров высочайшего уровня, которые создавали мебель из дорогих пород древесины. Гильдии разрабатывали стандарты качества изделий и контролировали производство, обучали и проводили аттестацию мастеров. Претенденты на членство в гильдии представляли на суд экспертной комиссии свои изделия. В начале ХХ века эта традиция переросла в ежегодные профессиональные выставки, на которых демонстрировались уникальные эталонные образцы мебели.

В 1930–1950 годах датские ремесленные мастерские вынуждены были конкурировать с индустриальными предприятиями других европейских стран. В этот период гильдии решали две задачи: с одной стороны, доказывали потребителю преимущества ручного индивидуального исполнения, с другой – стимулировали развитие местного серийного производства. Его необходимость была продиктована, в том числе, массовым строительством общественных зданий, которые требовали новой меблировки.

В Дании промышленный дизайн стал средством поддержки массового производства: высокие потребительские свойства товара достигались за счет идеально созданной формы предмета, правильно подобранного цвета и качественного материала.

Знаменитый Датский музей дизайна был задуман как своего рода образовательный центр для местных производителей и ремесленников. Его основатели были уверены, что для развития всех отраслей промышленности необходимо уделять повышенное внимание дизайну, знакомить профессионалов с лучшими его образцами со всего мира и с историей дизайна, для того чтобы они совершенствовали свое мастерство. Коллекция, библиотека и архивы музея стали для дизайнеров центром притяжения и важнейшим источником информации. Открытый для широкой публики в 1895 году, музей также должен был образовывать и формировать хороший вкус. Сейчас богатейшая коллекция Датского музея дизайна включает произведения декоративного и прикладного искусства, образцы промышленного дизайна Западной Европы, а также Дальнего Востока. Особое внимание в нем уделяется декоративному и прикладному искусству датских дизайнеров с начала ХХ века до наших дней.

Датский дизайн – символ элегантности, простоты и функциональности – известен во всем мире. В России выставочные проекты, связанные с датским дизайном, проходят нечасто. Кураторы уверены, что выставка станет началом знакомства с историей датского дизайна и будет интересна как профессионалам, так и широкой аудитории зрителей.

Участники выставки

Кааре Клинт (1888–1954), по мнению многих исследователей, является основоположником современного датского дизайна мебели. FAABORG CHAIR (1914), положивший начало золотому веку датского дизайна, был спроектирован им для Художественного музея Фааборг. Предполагалось, что посетители музея будут перемещать стул по выставочному залу, поэтому особое внимание при его создании уделялось легкости и мобильности. Эстетичность, функционализм и современный подход к проектированию сделали этот стул одним из ключевых предметов мебели первой половины XX века.

Арне Якобсен (1902–1971) – один из самых известных представителей датского дизайна. Архитектор по образованию, он спроектировал и построил более сотни домов в Дании и за рубежом. Для некоторых своих проектов он разрабатывал дизайн мебели, тканей, посуды, осветительных приборов. Например, для аэропорта авиакомпании SAS и Королевского отеля в Копенгагене он спроектировал все, вплоть до столовых приборов. Работа в области мебельного дизайна принесла ему всемирную славу. Стулья и кресла ANT («Муравей»), EGG («Яйцо»), SWAN («Лебедь») – шедевры мебельного искусства, до сих пор не утратившие популярности. В работе над стулом ANT (1951), который будет представлен на выставке в ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина, Якобсен использовал свой архитектурный опыт. Стальные ножки стула – идеальные металлические конструкции, его спинка и сиденье сделаны из одного куска фанеры.

Ханс Вегнер (1914–2007) – самый инновационный из датских проектировщиков мебели; он получил почти все главные дизайнерские награды и звание «Почетного Королевского промышленного дизайнера», присвоенное ему Королевским обществом искусств в Лондоне. В экспозиции можно будет увидеть его самый знаменитый стул, который так и называется – THE CHAIR («Стул», 1949). Простой деревянный стул с плетеным сиденьем и закругленной спинкой, позже выполненный в коже, стал «звездой» в 1960 году – Джон Кеннеди и Ричард Никсон во время теледебатов кандидатов в президенты США сидели именно на таких стульях.

Бёрге Могенсен (1914–1972) – самый «социальный» датский дизайнер. Могенсен считал, что хороший дизайн должен быть доступен для всех, а не только для состоятельных людей. Он запустил промышленное производство мебели, что позволило снизить цену, но не потерять качество. На создание SPANISH CHAIR («Испанский стул», 1958), который стал частью выставочного проекта, дизайнера вдохновила поездка в Испанию. Подобные стулья часто встречались в части Испании, находящейся под влиянием исламской культуры.

Поль Хеннингсен (1894–1967) – ведущий специалист в теории освещения, дизайнер уникальных декоративных светильников PH (название серии – инициалы дизайнера). Особенность светильников РН – равномерная заливка помещений отраженным светом от модульных отражателей. Такая система смягчает свет, придавая ему теплый оттенок. Самая знаменитая модель – ARTICHOKE («Артишок»), еще один шедевр дизайна ХХ века, будет представлена в экспозиции ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина. Первый ARTICHOKE был выпущен в 1958 году, но он и сегодня выглядит как объект современного искусства.

Финн Юль (1912–1989) – дизайнер, чьи проекты отличались от работ его современников объемностью и мягкостью, контрастирующими со сдержанной, даже аскетичной, датской архитектурой. В течение долгого времени он сотрудничал со знаменитым архитектором Вильгельмом Лауритценом. В 1942 году Финн Юль спроектировал кресло, которое стояло в Королевской ложе Концертного зала Датского радио в Копенгагене. Это кресло также будет показано на выставке «Легенды датского дизайна».

Грета Ялк (1920–2006), как и большинство ее коллег, экспериментировала с новыми материалами и производственными процессами. Интерес к ее необычной мебели появился не сразу – сначала ее работы покупали в основном для выставок и частных коллекций. Ялк разрабатывала комплекты мебели для промышленного производства, которые стали очень популярными и повысили репутацию датского мебельного дизайна во всем мире, их производили в Европе и Америке. На выставке будет представлен SHELL CHAIR («Ракушка», 1963) из многослойной гибкой фанеры – один из ее экспериментальных проектов.

Поль Кьерхольм (1929–1980) выбрал сталь основным материалом для своих изделий, но всегда комбинировал ее с деревом, кожей, тростником, мрамором. Одна из самых известных его работ – складной стул РК91 (1961) можно будет увидеть на выставке. Для Кьерхольма, также как и для большинства датских дизайнеров, очень важным было историческое наследие. Вдохновением для представленной на выставке модели послужил античный египетский складной стул датируемый приблизительно 1500 годом до н.э. Дизайнер использовал характерный для него метод «переосмысления» типов исторической мебели – их упрощение, улучшение эргономических характеристик, элегантность и минималистичность.

Вернер Пантон (1926–1998) – «революционер дизайна мебели» – много экспериментировал с новыми материалами (пластиком, плексигласом, фибергласом, стеклом, пенорезиной, полипропиленом и синтетическими волокнами) и технологическими процессами. Самый знаменитый стул ХХ века PANTON CHAIR, без ножек, спинки и подлокотников, был сделан из цельного куска формованного пластика. Технология его производства была настолько сложной, что от идеи до ее воплощения прошло семь лет. Стул производится до сих пор. Его современный образец будет стоять в интерактивной зоне выставки: каждый посетитель сможет оценить его удобство и сделать фотографии.

Расписание образовательной программы к выставке

17 мая, 19:00, Отдел личных коллекций
Дизайн в Дании как часть материальной культуры

18 мая, 19:00, Главное здание
Встреча на выставке «Легенды датского дизайна»

24 мая, 19:00, Отдел личных коллекций
Пути развития мебельного дизайна Дании

25 мая, 19:00, Отдел личных коллекций
Коллекционирование датского дизайна

1 июня, 19:00, Главное здание
Встреча на выставке «Легенды датского дизайна»

Образовательная программа проводится при поддержке Посольства Дании в Москве и Московского музея дизайна.

Генеральный партнер музея

Соорганизатор

При участии

Радиопартнер

Информационные партнеры

Профессиональный информационный партнер

САЙТЫ-САТЕЛЛИТЫ
 Картинками
 Списком

Главный сайт Портала

www.arts-museum.ru

Японская гравюра XVIII-XIX веков

www.japaneseprints.ru

Меценаты нового искусства

www.artmaecenas.ru

Галерея искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков

www.newpaintart.ru

Немецкая гравюра: Альбрехт Дюрер и его учителя

www.germanprints.ru

Официальный интернет-магазин

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Отдел личных коллекций

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Учебный художественный музей им. И.В. Цветаева в РГГУ

Сайт в разработке

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Отдел нумизматики

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Мемориальная квартира Святослава Рихтера

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Отдел реставрации и консервации музея

www.museumconservation.ru

Итальянская живопись VIII-XX веков

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Центр эстетического воспитания «Мусейон»

www.museyon.ru

Шедевры античного искусства

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

Британская гравюра XVIII—XIX веков

www.britishprints.ru

Проект реставрации египетской погребальной пелены II века н.э.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

На каждом сайте-сателлите размещен этот значок, помогающий перейти к любому сателлиту из системы сайтов Музея.

Гравюра в России XVIII – первой половины XIX столетия

www.russianprints.ru

Музейный городок

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru