Studies of Fine Arts. Teaching History of Art at Imperial Moscow University in the Mid 19th – Early 20th Century

11.10.2017 – 10.12.2017

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum

The exhibition “Studies of Fine Arts. Teaching History of Art at Imperial Moscow University in the Mid 19th – Early 20th Century” is being held in recognition of the 170th anniversary of Ivan Tsvetaev’s birth and the 20th anniversary of the foundation of the Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at the Russian State University for the Humanities (RSUH).

Unique publications from the holdings of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts will be exhibited for the first time. These were all used by university instructors at lectures and workshops for decades. Many reproductions, atlases, illustrated editions, and glass transparencies still have the stamp of the Cabinet of Fine Arts and Antiquities of Moscow University (founded in 1851–1852).

The scientific and educational publications clearly illustrate the development level of art history and archeology as sciences, as well as the growth of technical capabilities for the most precise reproduction of monuments. The hand-made nature and the special grace of prints reproduced using pre-existing techniques are demonstrated, for example, by lithographs from the set “Parthenon: Materials for Restoration issued in 1848 in Paris by Léon de Laborde, conservator of sculptures at the Louvre, or sheets with colored lithographic images from the 1872 publication “Wall Painting of Pompeii.” This is a work by Giulio De Petra, a famous Italian archaeologist who led excavations of Pompeii for many years.

Over the years, photographic images became preferable as a more precise method for monument reproduction. Examples of such publications are photographic reproductions by Alinari, a famous Italian company. These images will also be displayed at the exhibition. A central focus is the three-volume publication prepared by Ivan Tsvetaev – “Educational Atlas of Ancient Sculpture for Students of Imperial University of Moscow” (Moscow, 1890–1894).

When Ivan Tsvetaev started teaching his course on the history of ancient art at the Department of Theory and History of Art in the autumn of 1889, he quickly realized that the publications available at the Cabinet of Fine Arts were not totally sufficient. Therefore, he promptly drew up a plan for a new schoolbook. The Atlas of Ancient Sculpture for Students of Imperial University of Moscow contains photographic reproductions of more than 500 monuments. The publication was highly rated at the 1st International Congress of Historical Sciences held in Rome in 1903.

Of course, even the best photograph cannot be compared with a 3D image of a monument – a cast. Thus, the next task that Ivan Tsvetaev took on was to create an educational museum of casts. It took him more than 20 years to implement his idea. Finally, the Fine Arts Museum, which its founder called “an anthology of art in monuments,” opened its doors in Moscow in 1912. The high-quality casts collected by Tsvetaev are still relevant today. They were acquired more than a century ago for the Alexander III Fine Arts Museum; today, they are exhibited in both the Main Building and the Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum, which is located at the Russian State University for the Humanities (RSUH) at 15 Chayanova Street and takes part in the “Education through Art” program together with other university departments. That is why the exhibition dedicated to the history of classical art studies will be held in the Big Antique Hall (the Hall of Apollo) of the Educational Museum.

Tsvetaev’s collection of casts is one of the main topics at the scientific and practical conference “Tsvetaev Readings,” which is dedicated to the 170th anniversary of the Museum’s founder, Ivan Tsvetaev, and the 20th anniversary of the “Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum” department  of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts.  On October 9-10, conference presentations will be given by researchers and experts from the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts, the State Hermitage, the Russian Academy of Arts, the I.N. Kramskoy Voronezh Regional Museum of Fine Arts, the Ostankino Museum-Estate, and the State Museum of Urban Sculpture (St. Petersburg), as well as from major universities such as RSUH, Moscow State University, Higher School of Economics, and so-called “Tsvetaev” museums, including the house museum of the Tsvetaevs in Novo-Talitsy and the house museum of Marina Tsvetaeva in Moscow. Their reports will be dedicated to various aspects of the Museum’s history, methods of teaching the history of art based on the Museum’s collections of casts, restoration work, and research and storage – both at the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts and other museums possessing casts and plaster sculptures.

Museum general partner

Radiopartner

Информационный партнер

Professional informational partner

SATELLITE WEBSITES
 Pictures
 List

Portal Homepage

www.arts-museum.ru

Japanese prints of the 18th-19th century

www.japaneseprints.ru

Patrons of the New Art

www.artmaecenas.ru

Gallery of 19th and 20th century European and American Art

www.newpaintart.ru

German Prints: Albrecht Dürer and his Teachers

www.germanprints.ru

Official online shop

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Department of Private Collections

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at Russian State University for the Humanities

Site under development

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Coins And Medals Department

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Sviatoslav Richter Memorial Apartment

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Museum Restoration and Conservation Department

www.museumconservation.ru

Italian Painting in 8th-20th centuries

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Museyon Center for Aesthetic Education

www.museyon.ru

Masterpieces of Ancient Art

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

18th-19th Century British Engraving

www.britishprints.ru

Restoration of Egyptian burial shroud. II-nd c. AD.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Each satellite website contains this icon, which lets you go to any satellite from the museum's website system.

Engraving in Russia in 18th and Early 19th Centuries

www.russianprints.ru

Museum Quarter

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

Архив выставок

Наука о прекрасном. Преподавание истории искусств в Императорском Московском университете в середине XIX – начале XX века

Выставка «Наука о прекрасном. Преподавание истории искусств в Императорском Московском университете в середине XIX – начале ХХ века» приурочена к 170-летию со дня рождения И.В. Цветаева и 20-летию открытия Учебного художественного музея имени И.В. Цветаева в Российском Государственном гуманитарном университете.

На этой выставке будут впервые представлены уникальные издания из фондов ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина. Все они на протяжении десятилетий использовались университетскими преподавателями во время лекционных и семинарских занятий. Репродукции, атласы, увражи, диапозитивы на стеклах – на многих из них сохранился штамп Кабинета изящных искусств и древностей (основан в 1851–1852) Московского университета.

Научные и учебные издания наглядно отражают уровень развития истории искусств и археологии как наук, а также рост технических возможностей для наиболее точного воспроизведения памятников. Рукотворность и особое изящество оттисков, воспроизведенных с помощью более ранних техник, демонстрируют, например, литографии из комплекта «Парфенон: материалы для реставрации», изданного в Париже в 1848 году хранителем скульптуры в Лувре Леоном де Лабордом, или листы с цветными литографированными изображениями из издания 1872 года «Настенная живопись Помпей». Это труд Джулио де Петра, крупного итальянского археолога, руководившего на протяжении долгих лет раскопками Помпей.

Со временем при воспроизведении памятников стали отдавать предпочтение фотографическим изображениям, как более объективным. Примерами подобных изданий могут служить фоторепродукции производства известной итальянской фирмы «Алинари», которые также будут представлены на выставке. Почетное место в экспозиции займет трехтомное издание, подготовленное И.В. Цветаевым – «Учебный Атлас античного ваяния для студентов Императорского Московского университета». (М., 1890–1894)

Когда осенью 1889 года Цветаев приступил к преподаванию курса по истории античного искусства на кафедре теории и истории искусств, то скоро убедился в том, что издания, имевшиеся в Кабинете изящных искусств, не обеспечивают нужной ему полноты материала. Поэтому Иван Владимирович в кратчайшие сроки составил план нового учебного пособия. Атлас античного ваяния для студентов Императорского Московского университета содержит фоторепродукции более 500 памятников. Издание было высоко оценено на I Международном конгрессе исторических наук в Риме в 1903 году.

Но, разумеется, ни одна самая лучшая фотография не сравнится с трехмерным изображением памятника, то есть со слепком. Поэтому следующей задачей, которую перед собой поставил Цветаев, было создание учебного музея слепков. На исполнение задуманного ушло более 20 лет, лишь в 1912 году в Москве появился Музей изящных искусств, который его создатель называл «Хрестоматией по искусству в памятниках». Первоклассные слепки, собранные Цветаевым, не потеряли своей актуальности и сегодня. Приобретенные более 100 лет назад для Музея изящных искусств имени императора Александра III, они представлены и в Главном здании музея, и в отделе «Учебный художественный музей имени И.В. Цветаева», который территориально располагается на улице Чаянова, д. 15 в Российском государственном гуманитарном университете (РГГУ) и совместно с университетскими структурами участвует в реализации программы «Образование средствами искусства». Именно поэтому выставка, посвященная истории изучения классического искусства, пройдет в стенах Учебного музея в Большом Античном зале (зале Аполлона).

Цветаевская коллекция слепков – одна из главных тем научно-практической конференции «Цветаевские чтения», посвященной 170-летию основателя Музея изящных искусств И.В. Цветаева и 20-летию экспозиции отдела ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина «Учебный художественный музей имени И.В. Цветаева».  9–10 октября на конференции прозвучат выступления исследователей и музейных сотрудников из ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина, Государственного Эрмитажа, Российской Академии художеств, Воронежского областного художественного музея им. И.Н. Крамского, Музея-усадьбы Останкино, Музея городской скульптуры в Санкт-Петербурге, крупнейших университетов – РГГУ, МГУ, НИУ ВШЭ, а также представителей «цветаевских» музеев – Дома-музея семьи Цветаевых (Новые Талицы) и Дома-музея Марины Цветаевой (Москва). В докладах затрагиваются разнообразные темы, связанные с историей музея, методиками преподавания истории искусства на базе музейных собраний слепков, реставрационной и научно-хранительской деятельностью, как в ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина, так и иных музеях, имеющих в своих собраниях слепки и гипсовую скульптуру.

Генеральный партнер ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина

Радиопартнер

Информационный партнер

Профессиональный информационный партнер

САЙТЫ-САТЕЛЛИТЫ
 Картинками
 Списком

Главный сайт Портала

www.arts-museum.ru

Японская гравюра XVIII-XIX веков

www.japaneseprints.ru

Меценаты нового искусства

www.artmaecenas.ru

Галерея искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков

www.newpaintart.ru

Немецкая гравюра: Альбрехт Дюрер и его учителя

www.germanprints.ru

Официальный интернет-магазин

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Отдел личных коллекций

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Учебный художественный музей им. И.В. Цветаева в РГГУ

Сайт в разработке

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Отдел нумизматики

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Мемориальная квартира Святослава Рихтера

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Отдел реставрации и консервации музея

www.museumconservation.ru

Итальянская живопись VIII-XX веков

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Центр эстетического воспитания «Мусейон»

www.museyon.ru

Шедевры античного искусства

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

Британская гравюра XVIII—XIX веков

www.britishprints.ru

Проект реставрации египетской погребальной пелены II века н.э.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

На каждом сайте-сателлите размещен этот значок, помогающий перейти к любому сателлиту из системы сайтов Музея.

Гравюра в России XVIII – первой половины XIX столетия

www.russianprints.ru

Музейный городок

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru