Alexander Tyschler. Play and Acting

14.07.2017 – 17.09.2017

Private Collections

Buy a ticket to the Department of Private Collections to access the exhibition.

The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts presents the exhibition “Aleksander Tyschler. Play and Acting”. Over 150 art works of Aleksander Tyschler – paintings, graphics, sketches for costumes and scenic designs from the collection of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts are presented at the exhibition. A number of items from various private collections are also included in the exhibition, which is arranged to highlight the launch of the catalog of Tyschler’s works from the holdings of the Pushkin Museum. This book marks an important step in exploration of the fascinating legacy of Aleksander Tyschler, whose art works connected theater stage and poetic imagination.

The dedicated exhibitions of Tyschler’s works do not take place often: the last event was in Moscow almost 20 years ago, in 1998. The connections between the theater stage and the poetry of make-believe is the leading concept of this grand-scale display of Tyschler’s art. The exhibition includes 5 sections dedicated to five topics that stirred the artist’s imagination during his fruitful life-long career: “Man on the Earth”, “Executions by Firing Squad”, “Love, or Dreaming of the Fair Lady”, “Theater,” and “Capriccio”.

One of the most important parts of Tyschler’s art are his stage and costume designs made for theaters. The artist designed more than 80 plays in theaters of Moscow, Leningrad, and Minsk. Art historian and critic Jacob Tugendhold said that Tyschler’s art in general was “leaning to play and acting”. It defined the universal nature of the master’s artistic method, which was applicable to both easel painting and theatrical stagecraft. “Theater” section features art works consistent in style and color, from the general view of scenic designs to elaborate costume details.

In the section “Love, or Dreaming of the Fair Lady” you will find Tyschler’s drawing “Vanda” – his earliest work from the holdings of the Department of Private Collections. This special, shimmering female character accompanied Tyschler during his artistic career: behind the whimsical shapes a covert passion can be noticed. This is how the image of the girl with a ship on her head was born (“Oceanide”), which alludes to both antique sea gods and Aleksander Grin’s “She Who Runs on the Waves”.

The section “Man on the Earth” includes works that show the artist’s special conviction: a family is a part of the Universe, and perhaps one of its foundational tenets. Along with this idea, the theme of a special, empty space appears in his works in the 1930s. In “Motherhood” (1932), the theme of abandonment of humans in a hostile, impartial space is clearly visualized. During this period, the artist doubted the grandeur of human spirit.

The most dramatic section of the exposition is “Executions by Firing Squad”. Images of death through violence appeared in Tyschler’s drawings in the 1920s. The tragic fate of his family and the Civil War that he witnessed brought the series “Execution,” “Pogrom,” and “Makhnovism”. In these works, the master depicted unruly and meaningless cruelty. For the first time, the poster “Antisemitism is Deliberate Counter-Revolution” is exhibited, where the drama reaches its peak: the whole world is broken into two parts, the victims and the executioners. The artist revisited the fight between the armed evil and the vulnerable good a few decades later, in the 1960s, in his painting series “Fascism” and his lithograph series “Execution of Pigeon” and “Executed Angel” (1964).

The section “Capriccio” is dedicated to Tyschler’s works inspired by street theaters and traveling shows, public celebrations and performances. The first exhibit here is “Radiooctobrians” (1925). This sizable, elaborately penned composition shows a street celebration on the occasion of radio anniversary. The topic is complemented by “Jugglers,” “Centauresses,” “Clowns” – the images that haunted Tyschler’s works for decades.

The exhibition curator is Anna Chudetskaya, a leading researcher of the Department of Private Collections at the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts.

Museum general partner

Informational partners

Radiopartner

Professional informational partner

SATELLITE WEBSITES
 Pictures
 List

Portal Homepage

www.arts-museum.ru

Japanese prints of the 18th-19th century

www.japaneseprints.ru

Patrons of the New Art

www.artmaecenas.ru

Gallery of 19th and 20th century European and American Art

www.newpaintart.ru

German Prints: Albrecht Dürer and his Teachers

www.germanprints.ru

Official online shop

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Department of Private Collections

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at Russian State University for the Humanities

Site under development

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Coins And Medals Department

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Sviatoslav Richter Memorial Apartment

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Museum Restoration and Conservation Department

www.museumconservation.ru

Italian Painting in 8th-20th centuries

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Museyon Center for Aesthetic Education

www.museyon.ru

Masterpieces of Ancient Art

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

18th-19th Century British Engraving

www.britishprints.ru

Restoration of Egyptian burial shroud. II-nd c. AD.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Each satellite website contains this icon, which lets you go to any satellite from the museum's website system.

Engraving in Russia in 18th and Early 19th Centuries

www.russianprints.ru

Museum Quarter

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

Александр Тышлер. Игра и лицедейство

Вход на выставку по билету в Отдел личных коллекций.

Государственный музей изобразительных искусств имени А.С. Пушкина представляет выставку «Александр Тышлер. Игра и лицедейство». На выставке представлено около 150 произведений Александра Тышлера – живопись, графика, эскизы костюмов и декораций – из собрания ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина. Экспозиция дополнена работами из частных коллекций. Выставка приурочена к изданию каталога произведений художника, находящихся в собрании музея. Данное издание – значительный этап в изучении творчества замечательного мастера, связавшего театральную сцену и поэзию вымысла.

Монографическая выставка работ Александра Тышлера – явление чрезвычайно редкое: последняя прошла в Москве в 1998 году, почти 20 лет назад. Связь театральной сцены с поэзией вымысла – вот основной мотив нынешнего масштабного показа произведений художника. Экспозиция разделена на пять частей, посвященных темам, которые волновали мастера на протяжении его долгой и плодотворной жизни: «Человек на Земле», «Расстрельные темы», «Любовь, или Мечта о Прекрасной Даме», «Театр» и «Капричос».

Одна из важнейших страниц в творчестве Тышлера – работы для театра. Художник оформил более 80 спектаклей в театрах Москвы, Ленинграда, Минска. Искусствовед и критик Яков Тугендхольд назвал особенностью искусства Тышлера «склонность к игре и лицедейству». Эта склонность и определила универсальный характер творческого метода мастера: он был применим и в станковых формах изобразительного искусства, и в театральной сценографии. Произведения, представленные в разделе «Театр», отличаются стилевым и цветовым единством, начиная с общего оформления декораций и заканчивая проработкой деталей костюма.

В разделе «Любовь, или Мечта о Прекрасной Даме» представлена самая ранняя работа Тышлера из собрания ОЛК – рисунок «Ванда». Этот особый, мерцающий женский образ будет сопровождать художника на протяжении всего творчества: за причудливостью форм угадывается скрытая страстность. Так рождается и образ девушки с корабликом на голове («Океанида»), соотносящийся и с античными морскими божествами, и с «бегущей по волнам» Александра Грина.

Раздел «Человек на Земле» объединяет работы, воплотившие особое мироощущение художника: семья – это часть Вселенной, может быть, даже столп, вокруг которого вращается мироздание. Наряду с этой идеей в творчестве Тышлера в 1930-е появляется тема особого, пустого пространства. В работе 1932 года «Материнство» отчетливо звучит тема «заброшенности» человеческого существа в пространство если не враждебное, то равнодушное. В этот период в живописи мастера сквозит глубокое сомнение в торжестве человеческого духа.

Самый драматичный раздел экспозиции – «Расстрельные темы». Образы насильственной смерти возникают в графике Тышлера в 1920-е. Трагическая участь родных, события Гражданской войны, пережитые художником, вызвали появление серий «Расстрел», «Погром», «Махновщина». В этих произведениях мастер создает образы человеческой необузданной и бессмысленной жестокости. Впервые в экспозиции представлен плакат «Антисемитизм-сознательная контр-революция», в котором драматизм образов достиг пика: показан мир, расколотый на две части – жертв и палачей. К теме непосредственного столкновения зла и добра, где первое вооружено, а второе – беззащитно, художник возвращается спустя несколько десятилетий, в 1960-е, в живописном цикле «Фашизм» и в сериях литографий 1964 года «Расстрел голубя» и «Казненный ангел».

Тема «Капричос» в творчестве Тышлера появляется под впечатлением от народных театров, балаганов, народных праздников и представлений. Открывает раздел лист под названием «Радиооктябрины» (1925). Значительная по размерам, филигранно выполненная пером и тушью композиция представляет народное гуляние по случаю дня рождения радио. Эту тему поддерживают серии «Жонглеры», «Девушки-кентавры», «Клоуны» – образы, которые живут в творчестве художника десятилетиями.

Куратор выставки – ведущий научный сотрудник Отдела личных коллекций ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина Анна Чудецкая.

Генеральный партнер ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина

Информационные партнеры

Радиопартнер

Профессиональный информационный партнер

САЙТЫ-САТЕЛЛИТЫ
 Картинками
 Списком

Главный сайт Портала

www.arts-museum.ru

Японская гравюра XVIII-XIX веков

www.japaneseprints.ru

Меценаты нового искусства

www.artmaecenas.ru

Галерея искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков

www.newpaintart.ru

Немецкая гравюра: Альбрехт Дюрер и его учителя

www.germanprints.ru

Официальный интернет-магазин

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Отдел личных коллекций

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Учебный художественный музей им. И.В. Цветаева в РГГУ

Сайт в разработке

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Отдел нумизматики

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Мемориальная квартира Святослава Рихтера

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Отдел реставрации и консервации музея

www.museumconservation.ru

Итальянская живопись VIII-XX веков

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Центр эстетического воспитания «Мусейон»

www.museyon.ru

Шедевры античного искусства

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

Британская гравюра XVIII—XIX веков

www.britishprints.ru

Проект реставрации египетской погребальной пелены II века н.э.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

На каждом сайте-сателлите размещен этот значок, помогающий перейти к любому сателлиту из системы сайтов Музея.

Гравюра в России XVIII – первой половины XIX столетия

www.russianprints.ru

Музейный городок

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru