Baroness d'Oettingen’s Paris nights

Curator: Aleksey Petukhov, Senior Researcher of the Department of 19th and 20th Century European and American Art.

Baroness d'Oettingen’s salon at Montparnasse was extremely popular among innovative artists, writers and poets, art critics and musicians in the 1910s, the high noon of the Paris avant-garde. Hélène Miaczinska, a femme fatale and a Polish aristocrat with an imposing name and title moved to Paris with her cousin, a talented artist and refined connoisseur Sergey Yastrebzov at the break of the 20th century. Sergey adopted a pseudonym Serge Férat and rose to fame together with Baroness d'Oettingen as the leading figures in artistic life in Paris. These passionate lovers of arts glowing with energy constantly entertained creative initiatives, sometimes with romantic paramours included. They promoted and participated in dozens of avant-garde projects. Pablo Picasso, Georges Braque, Henri Matisse, Andre Derain, cubists from Puteaux Group, Italian futurists, painters from School of Paris, poets Guillaume Apollinaire and Jean Cocteau were the insiders of this vibrant social club.

Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts is organizing this exhibition in partnership with French colleagues aiming to re-create the intense atmosphere of life in Paris d'Oettingen and Férat had in 1900s–1950s. The displayed items will include materials from the private archives of the French heirs of Baroness, the Roussot family, previously unknown to the broad audience, as well as exhibits drawn from collections of Center Georges Pompidou and the City of Paris Museum of Modern Art. About 40 paintings, up to 50 drawings, unique archival documents, design and applied works will be presented in the project.

The salon of Baroness d'Oettingen, the meeting place of the avant-garde masters, is the focal point of the exhibition, but the talents of the fine lady, who also acted like an artist, poet and art critic, will also be highlighted. Her big personality made the apartments at Boulevard Raspail in Montparnasse with Henri Roussot’s paintings on the walls so attractive to the talents in all sorts of art.

The Baroness’ and her cousin’s role as patrons of avant-garde is an individual topic within the project. In 1910 the Baroness d'Oettingen’s social club embraced somewhat reserved individuals like Pablo Picasso and Georges Braque, and more companionable Albert Gleizes, Jean Metzinger, Robert Delaunay, Fernand Léger, and a future dadaist Francis Picabia. It should be noted that art works of Serge Férat in terms of expressiveness were as good as canonical cubist masterpieces. The Finnish painter Léopold Survage, the Baroness’ lover, was one of the pioneers of the abstract art.

Baroness d'Oettingen was also an affectionate fan of literature, she gave a very special welcome to the writers and poets. D'Oettingen and Férat founded a legendary magazine “Soirees de Paris” (Paris Nights) and “donated” it to their friend Guillaume Apollinaire in 1913 who made it a flagship of avant-garde media. Another section of the exhibition dedicated to poets Apollinaire, Cocteau, Max Jacob, André Salmon who recited their lyrics in the salon will focus on their relations with the artists.

After the end of World War I a series of innovative theater projects were launched in Paris. Among these were “Parade” ballet with the scenery painted by Picasso in 1917 and “The Breasts of Tiresias” with the stage design by Serge Férat. The latter was called a “surrealistic performance” and, basically, this is how the term was born.

Because of the Russian Revolution D'Oettingen and Férat lost their incomes and while they could no longer afford to be generous philanthropists they remained tireless activists of art. Baroness D'Oettingen was a prolific poet, she published her poems and cooperated with the musicians from “Les Six” and artists from the School of Paris. Her experiments with fashion and design in 1920s have a lot in common with the art works of her famous contemporary Sonia Delaunay and art déco aesthetics. Serge Férat became famous during the 20 year interwar period for his theater projects and philosophical compositions with harlequins that excited unstinted admiration of Jean Cocteau. Serge Férat kept the archive of Baroness D'Oettingen for many years as a memory of the heroic time of becoming of avant-garde. He died in a very advanced age.

SATELLITE WEBSITES
 Pictures
 List

Portal Homepage

www.arts-museum.ru

Japanese prints of the 18th-19th century

www.japaneseprints.ru

Patrons of the New Art

www.artmaecenas.ru

Gallery of 19th and 20th century European and American Art

www.newpaintart.ru

German Prints: Albrecht Dürer and his Teachers

www.germanprints.ru

Official online shop

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Department of Private Collections

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at Russian State University for the Humanities

Site under development

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Coins And Medals Department

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Sviatoslav Richter Memorial Apartment

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Museum Restoration and Conservation Department

www.museumconservation.ru

Italian Painting in 8th-20th centuries

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Museyon Center for Aesthetic Education

www.museyon.ru

Masterpieces of Ancient Art

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

18th-19th Century British Engraving

www.britishprints.ru

Restoration of Egyptian burial shroud. II-nd c. AD.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

The State Museum of the Modern Western Art

www.newestmuseum.ru

Engraving in Russia in 18th and Early 19th Centuries

www.russianprints.ru

Museum Quarter

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

Each satellite website contains this icon, which lets you go to any satellite from the museum's website system.

Архив выставок

Парижские вечера баронессы Эттинген

В 1910-х годах, в пору расцвета парижского авангарда, мало кто из новаторов в искусстве – художников, литераторов, критиков, музыкантов – не знал салона баронессы Эттинген на Монпарнасе. Роковая красавица со звучным титулом, урожденная польская аристократка Елена Миончинская, прибыла в Париж вместе со своим двоюродным братом, талантливым художником и тонким знатоком Сергеем Ястребцовым, в самом начале ХХ столетия. Страсть к новому искусству, накал творческой энергии, постоянные яркие инициативы, нередко принимавшие форму романтических связей, сделали баронессу Эттинген и Сергея, взявшего псевдоним Серж Фера, одними из ключевых фигур художественной жизни Парижа. За долгие годы жизни они сумели придать импульс десяткам авангардных проектов и на равных участвовать в них: в их «ближнем круге» были Пабло Пикассо, Жорж Брак, Анри Матисс, Андре Дерен, кубисты группы «Золотое сечение» и итальянские футуристы, мастера Парижской школы, поэты Гийом Аполлинер и Жан Кокто.

Выставка ГМИИ имени А.С. Пушкина в партнерстве с французскими коллегами призвана воссоздать живую и насыщенную атмосферу парижской жизни Эттинген и Фера 1900-х – 1950-х годов. Она включит неизвестные широкой публике материалы частного архива французских наследников баронессы – семейства Руссо – наравне с произведениями из крупнейших парижских музеев искусства ХХ века – Центра Помпиду и Городского музея современного искусства. Предполагается, что в проекте будут представлены около 40 картин, до полусотни рисунков, уникальные архивные материалы, произведения прикладного искусства и дизайна.

Лейтмотивом выставки станет салон баронессы – место встреч мастеров авангарда, а также разносторонние дарования его хозяйки, светской дамы, выступавшей одновременно как художник, поэт, критик. Поэтому апартаменты на бульваре Распай на Монпарнасе, украшенные картинами Анри Руссо (Таможенника), были равно привлекательны для талантов во всех видах искусства.

Отдельной темой станет история Эттинген и Фера в роли покровителей авангарда. В 1910-е салон баронессы концентрировал вокруг себя и затворников Пабло Пикассо и Жоржа Брака, и более открытых Альбера Глеза, Жана Метсенже, Робера Делоне, Фернана Леже, и будущего дадаиста Франсиса Пикабиа, а композиции самого Сержа Фера по своей экспрессии не уступают хрестоматийным образцам кубизма. Возлюбленный баронессы, художник из Финляндии Леопольд Сюрваж, стал одним из первооткрывателей абстрактного искусства.

Одновременно романтичны и возвышенны были отношения баронессы Эттинген с литературой – поэты и писатели пользовались ее особым расположением. Легендарным стал журнал «Парижские вечера» («Soirees de Paris»), который Эттинген и Фера в 1913 году «подарили» своему другу Гийому Аполлинеру, превратившему его в трибуну авангарда. О звучавших в доме баронессы стихах Аполлинера, Кокто, Макса Жакоба, Андре Сальмона, их отношениях и связях с художниками расскажет специальный раздел выставки.

Конец Первой мировой войны стал временем «взрыва» новаторских театральных проектов в Париже. Наряду с «Парадом» в декорациях Пикассо, в 1917 году это была и оформленная Сержем Фера пьеса Аполлинера «Груди Тиресия», названная авторами «сюрреалистической» – это, знаменитое слово прозвучало тогда впервые.

Революция в России лишила Этинген и Фера доходов, превратила их из щедрых меценатов в неутомимых авторов все новых творческих инициатив. Баронесса активно писала стихи и публиковалась, взаимодействовала с музыкантами знаменитой французской «Шестерки» и художниками Парижской школы, а ее опыты 1920-х в моде и дизайне пересекаются с работами ее знаменитой современницы Сони Делоне и эстетикой ар деко. В свою очередь, Серж Фера в межвоенное двадцатилетие прославился своими театральными проектами и философскими композициями с арлекинами, которыми столь вдохновенно восхищался Кокто. Дожив до преклонных лет, Фера остался хранителем памяти о героических временах становления авангарда, тщательно сохранив архив баронессы Эттинген.

Куратор: Алексей Петухов, старший научный сотрудник отдела искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков.

САЙТЫ-САТЕЛЛИТЫ
 Картинками
 Списком

Главный сайт Портала

www.arts-museum.ru

Японская гравюра XVIII-XIX веков

www.japaneseprints.ru

Меценаты нового искусства

www.artmaecenas.ru

Галерея искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков

www.newpaintart.ru

Немецкая гравюра: Альбрехт Дюрер и его учителя

www.germanprints.ru

Официальный интернет-магазин

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Отдел личных коллекций

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Учебный художественный музей им. И.В. Цветаева в РГГУ

Сайт в разработке

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Отдел нумизматики

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Мемориальная квартира Святослава Рихтера

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Отдел реставрации и консервации музея

www.museumconservation.ru

Итальянская живопись VIII-XX веков

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Центр эстетического воспитания «Мусейон»

www.museyon.ru

Шедевры античного искусства

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

Британская гравюра XVIII—XIX веков

www.britishprints.ru

Проект реставрации египетской погребальной пелены II века н.э.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Государственный музей нового западного искусства (ГМНЗИ)

www.newestmuseum.ru

Гравюра в России XVIII – первой половины XIX столетия

www.russianprints.ru

Музейный городок

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

На каждом сайте-сателлите размещен этот значок, помогающий перейти к любому сателлиту из системы сайтов Музея.