Exhibitions

Many major exhibitions of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts are remembered by visitors not only as events of cultural and public life, but also as milestones of their own biographies.

The Museum opened its first exhibition soon after its foundation in 1914. However, the peak of development of its exhibitions started in the 2nd half of the 20th century with the famous exhibition “Masterpieces of the Dresden Picture Gallery,” which opened in 1955. Just like the most famous museums holding international art exhibitions, such as the Louvre, the British Museum, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, etc., the Pushkin Museum contributed to the cultural rapprochement of nations and the defusing of international tensions. At the same time, during the period of ideological taboos in art, it fell to this Museum to demonstrate the great achievements of the world's artistic culture in its best works, both classical and avant-garde, to several generations of Soviet people.

The most important exhibitions of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts were “Paintings, Drawings and Ceramics by Pablo Picasso” (1956), “Art of Mexico from Ancient Times to Date” (1960), “Treasures of Tutankhamun's Tomb” (1973), “Moscow — Paris. 1900–1930” (1982), “Marc Chagall. For the 100th Anniversary of the Birth of the Artist” (1987), “Etruscan World” (1900 and 2004), “Moscow — Berlin. 1900–1950” (1996), “Andy Warhol” (2001), “Claude Monet and Marcel Proust” (2001), “Russia — Italy. Through the Centuries. From Giotto to Malevich” (2005), “Meeting Modigliani” (2007), “Chanel. Under the Laws of Art” (2007), “Turner. 1775–1851” (2008), “Alberto Giacometti” (2008), and many others.

A number of the world's masterpieces have been displayed in the Museum, including “La Gioconda” by Leonardo da Vinci (1974), Titian's “Venus of Urbino” (2000), “St. Sebastian” by Antonello da Messina (2006), and “Antea” by Parmigianino (2008).

The Museum organizes temporary exhibitions at a number of its venues, including the main building, the Department of Private Collections, the Gallery of 19th and 20th Century European and American Art, and the Mouseion Children's Educational Center. A significant feature of the Museum's exhibition strategy is the combination of different genres: exhibitions of collections, as well as exhibitions based on themes, publications, and interpretations, which cover the whole range of the Museum's collections and go beyond it in demonstrating relevant cultural and art phenomena.

SATELLITE WEBSITES
 Pictures
 List

Portal Homepage

www.arts-museum.ru

Japanese prints of the 18th-19th century

www.japaneseprints.ru

Patrons of the New Art

www.artmaecenas.ru

Gallery of 19th and 20th century European and American Art

www.newpaintart.ru

German Prints: Albrecht Dürer and his Teachers

www.germanprints.ru

Official online shop

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Department of Private Collections

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at Russian State University for the Humanities

Site under development

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Coins And Medals Department

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Sviatoslav Richter Memorial Apartment

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Museum Restoration and Conservation Department

www.museumconservation.ru

Italian Painting in 8th-20th centuries

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Museyon Center for Aesthetic Education

www.museyon.ru

Masterpieces of Ancient Art

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

18th-19th Century British Engraving

www.britishprints.ru

Restoration of Egyptian burial shroud. II-nd c. AD.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Each satellite website contains this icon, which lets you go to any satellite from the museum's website system.

Engraving in Russia in 18th and Early 19th Centuries

www.russianprints.ru

Museum Quarter

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

Выставочная деятельность

Многие крупные выставки ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина запомнились многочисленным зрителям как события не только культурной, но и общественной жизни страны, как факты собственной биографии.

Музей ведет выставочную деятельность практически со времени своего открытия в 1914 году. Однако ее расцвет начался во второй половине ХХ века со знаменитой выставки «Шедевры Дрезденской картинной галереи», открытой в 1955 году. Действуя в ряду с крупнейшими музеями-организаторами международных художественных выставок, такими как Лувр, Британский музей, Метрополитен и др., ГМИИ способствовал в широком смысле культурному сближению народов, разрядке международной напряженности. Вместе с тем в период идеологических запретов в сфере искусства именно ГМИИ, как никакому другому музею, выпала уникальная миссия открыть нескольким поколениям отечественных зрителей великие достижения мировой художественной культуры в ее лучших образцах, как классических, так и авангардных.

Среди наиболее значительных выставок ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина — «Живопись, графика и керамика Пабло Пикассо» (1956), «Искусство Мексики от древнейших времен до наших дней» (1960), «Сокровища гробницы Тутанхамона» (1973), «Москва — Париж. 1900–1930» (1982), «Марк Шагал. К 100-летию со дня рождения художника» (1987), «Мир этрусков» (1990 и 2004), «Москва-Берлин. 1900–1950» (1996), «Энди Уорхол» (2001), «Клод Моне и Марсель Пруст» (2001), «Россия — Италия. Сквозь века. От Джотто до Малевича» (2005), «Встреча с Модильяни» (2007), «Шанель. По законам искусства» (2007), «Тернер. 1775–1851» (2008), «Альберто Джакометти» (2008) и многие другие.

Среди мировых художественных шедевров, показанных в Музее — «Джоконда» Леонардо да Винчи (1974), «Венера Урбинская» Тициана (2000), «Святой Себастьян» Антонелло да Мессина (2006), «Антея» Пармиджанино (2008).

Выставочная деятельность Музея строится как система временных выставок, проходящих на нескольких выставочных площадках музейного комплекса, включая Главное здание, Отдел личных коллекций, Галерею искусств стран Европы и Америки ХIХ–ХХ вв., а также детский центр «Мусейон». Важной особенностью выставочной стратегии Музея является сочетание разных выставочных жанров: коллекционных и тематических выставок, выставок-публикаций и выставок интерпретаций, охватывающих весь тематический спектр коллекций Музея, а также выходящий за его пределы, в том числе в демонстрации актуальных явлений культуры и искусства.

САЙТЫ-САТЕЛЛИТЫ
 Картинками
 Списком

Главный сайт Портала

www.arts-museum.ru

Японская гравюра XVIII-XIX веков

www.japaneseprints.ru

Меценаты нового искусства

www.artmaecenas.ru

Галерея искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков

www.newpaintart.ru

Немецкая гравюра: Альбрехт Дюрер и его учителя

www.germanprints.ru

Официальный интернет-магазин

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Отдел личных коллекций

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Учебный художественный музей им. И.В. Цветаева в РГГУ

Сайт в разработке

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Отдел нумизматики

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Мемориальная квартира Святослава Рихтера

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Отдел реставрации и консервации музея

www.museumconservation.ru

Итальянская живопись VIII-XX веков

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Центр эстетического воспитания «Мусейон»

www.museyon.ru

Шедевры античного искусства

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

Британская гравюра XVIII—XIX веков

www.britishprints.ru

Проект реставрации египетской погребальной пелены II века н.э.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

На каждом сайте-сателлите размещен этот значок, помогающий перейти к любому сателлиту из системы сайтов Музея.

Гравюра в России XVIII – первой половины XIX столетия

www.russianprints.ru

Музейный городок

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru