Philanthropists in the history of the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts

The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts owns one of Russia’s largest collections of artwork, from ancient masterpieces to contemporary art, and it was created thanks to active contributions by philanthropists. They supported both the construction of the building and the compilation of the Museum’s collection.

Иван Владимирович Цветаев (1847–1913) и Юрий Степанович Нечаев-Мальцов (1834–1913)

The Museum of Fine Arts, envisioned by its founder Ivan Tsvetaev (1847–1913) as an academic museum of casts affiliated to Moscow University and a public educational center, eventually became one of our country’s largest museum complexes.

The Committee for the Establishment of the Alexander III Fine Arts Museum was founded in 1898. This was a voluntary community of people who wanted to take an active part in the dissemination of knowledge in the field of fine arts. The Committee coordinated the efforts of Moscow University management, representatives of the highest authorities, and private individuals, who donated funds and pieces of art or provided other types of support to the future museum. Grand Duke Sergey Alexandrovich (1857–1905) served as the chairman of the Committee from its foundation until his tragic death in February 1905. According to a report from July 1895, Nicholas II ordered that a plot of land be provided for the Museum and that 200,000 rubles be allocated for construction.

The Committee chairman’s colleague (and vice-chairman) was well-known industrialist Yury Nechaev-Maltsov (1834–1913). In 1897 he bought the first original artifacts of Ancient Egyptian art and culture for the Museum. Nechaev-Maltsov spent a total of approximately 2 million rubles on artwork – two-thirds of all expenses of the Museum.

In 1909, three years prior to opening, annual payments to the Museum of Fine Arts were guaranteed by law. Before that time, as the Museum was being built, exhibits were paid for mainly by Committee founding members and other donors (more than 40 people in total). The contribution of every philanthropist is carefully preserved in the Museum’s history, and it is reflected in studies and books about the Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts.

SATELLITE WEBSITES
 Pictures
 List

Portal Homepage

www.arts-museum.ru

Japanese prints of the 18th-19th century

www.japaneseprints.ru

Patrons of the New Art

www.artmaecenas.ru

Gallery of 19th and 20th century European and American Art

www.newpaintart.ru

German Prints: Albrecht Dürer and his Teachers

www.germanprints.ru

Official online shop

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Department of Private Collections

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Ivan Tsvetaev Educational Art Museum at Russian State University for the Humanities

Site under development

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Coins And Medals Department

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Sviatoslav Richter Memorial Apartment

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Museum Restoration and Conservation Department

www.museumconservation.ru

Italian Painting in 8th-20th centuries

www.italian-art.ru

Музей. Пространство внимания

www.heatmap.arts-museum.ru

Museyon Center for Aesthetic Education

www.museyon.ru

Masterpieces of Ancient Art

www.antic-art.ru

Человек как птица. Образы путешествий

www.venice.arts-museum.ru

18th-19th Century British Engraving

www.britishprints.ru

Restoration of Egyptian burial shroud. II-nd c. AD.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Each satellite website contains this icon, which lets you go to any satellite from the museum's website system.

Engraving in Russia in 18th and Early 19th Centuries

www.russianprints.ru

Museum Quarter

www.quarter.arts-museum.ru

Меценаты в истории ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина

Государственный музей изобразительных искусств имени А.С. Пушкина, обладающий одним из крупнейших в России художественных собраний мирового искусства с древнейших времен до наших дней, был создан благодаря активному участию меценатов. Поддержка благотворителей коснулась как строительства здания, так и формирования коллекции.

Иван Владимирович Цветаев (1847–1913) и Юрий Степанович Нечаев-Мальцов (1834–1913)Музей изобразительных искусств, задуманный его основателем Иваном Владимировичем Цветаевым (1847–1913) как учебный музей слепков при Московском университете и одновременно общедоступный просветительский центр, со временем превратился в один из крупнейших музеев нашей страны.

В 1898 году начал функционировать Комитет по устройству Музея изящных искусств имени Александра III. Комитет создавался как добровольное сообщество лиц, желающих активно участвовать в распространении знаний в области изящных искусств, и осуществлял координацию между руководством Московского университета, представителями высших властей и частными лицами, которые жертвовали средства на организацию музея, дарили произведения искусства или оказывали другую поддержку. Председателем Комитета со дня его основания вплоть до своей гибели в феврале 1905 года был великий князь Сергей Александрович (1857–1905). По его докладу в июле 1895 года Николай II распорядился предоставить место для музея и выделить на постройку здания 200 тысяч рублей.

Товарищем (заместителем) председателя Комитета стал крупный промышленник Юрий Степанович Нечаев-Мальцов (1834–1913). В 1897 году он приобрел для музея первые оригинальные памятники искусства и культуры Древнего Египта. Нечаевым-Мальцовым в общей сложности было потрачено около двух миллионов рублей, что составляло две трети всех затрат.

В 1909 году, за три года до открытия, законодательно были утверждены ежегодные штатные суммы для Музея изящных искусств. До этого времени музей строился и экспонаты заказывали главным образом на денежные средства членов-учредителей Комитета и других жертвователей, общее количество которых превышало 40 человек. Вклад каждого из меценатов бережно сохранен в истории Музея и отображен в научных исследованиях и книгах об истории ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина.

Контакты программы

САЙТЫ-САТЕЛЛИТЫ
 Картинками
 Списком

Главный сайт Портала

www.arts-museum.ru

Гравюра в России XVIII – первой половины XIX столетия

www.russianprints.ru

Проект реставрации египетской погребальной пелены II века н.э.

www.shroud.arts-museum.ru

Галерея искусства стран Европы и Америки XIX–XX веков

www.newpaintart.ru

Японская гравюра XVIII-XIX веков

www.japaneseprints.ru

Меценаты нового искусства

www.artmaecenas.ru

Отдел личных коллекций

www.artprivatecollections.ru

Немецкая гравюра: Альбрехт Дюрер и его учителя

www.germanprints.ru

Официальный интернет-магазин

www.artsmuseumshop.ru

Отдел нумизматики

www.coins-and-medals.ru

Учебный художественный музей им. И.В. Цветаева в РГГУ

Сайт в разработке

Виртуальные прогулки по музею

www.virtual.arts-museum.ru

Отдел реставрации и консервации музея

www.museumconservation.ru

Мемориальная квартира Святослава Рихтера

www.sviatoslav-richter.ru

Технология виртуальной реальности VR

www.vr.arts-museum.ru

Центр эстетического воспитания «Мусейон»

www.museyon.ru

Итальянская живопись VIII-XX веков

www.italian-art.ru

На каждом сайте-сателлите размещен этот значок, помогающий перейти к любому сателлиту из системы сайтов Музея.

Британская гравюра XVIII—XIX веков

www.britishprints.ru

Шедевры античного искусства

www.antic-art.ru